Filming Permit Process

The filming permit process is different for each film commission so you should check with them on the proper way they want it done.

5 Standard items you will need for a Filming Permit.

  1. 1.Certificate of Insurance with specific wording for the location you are filming.

  2. 2.A brief description and or a script and storyboards of what you intend to film at the location.

  3. 3.A schedule of when you plan to shoot at that location and when you will be wrapped.

  4. 4.A parking plan for production vehicles.

  5. 5.Possibly, a check or cash for the location or the governing body of that location.

Film Commission Website Links to all 50 US States, Washington D.C and Puerto Rico

Alaska Film Commissionhttp://www.alaskafilm.org/http://www.alaskafilm.org/shapeimage_2_link_0
Alabama Film Commissionhttp://www.alabamafilm.org/http://www.alabamafilm.org/shapeimage_3_link_0
Arkansas Film Commissionhttp://arkansasedc.com/business-development/arkansas-film.aspxhttp://arkansasedc.com/business-development/arkansas-film.aspxshapeimage_4_link_0
Arizona Film Commissionhttp://www.azcommerce.com/Film/http://www.azcommerce.com/Film/shapeimage_5_link_0
California Film Commissionhttp://www.film.ca.gov/http://www.film.ca.gov/shapeimage_6_link_0
Colorado Film Commissionhttp://www.coloradofilm.org/http://www.coloradofilm.org/shapeimage_7_link_0
Connecticut Film Commissionhttp://www.cultureandtourism.org/cct/cwp/view.asp?a=2126&q=302556&CCTNAV_GID=1637http://www.cultureandtourism.org/cct/cwp/view.asp?a=2126&q=302556&CCTNAV_GID=1637shapeimage_8_link_0
Delaware Film Commission http://dedo.delaware.gov/filmoffice/default.shtmlhttp://dedo.delaware.gov/filmoffice/default.shtmlshapeimage_9_link_0
Florida Film Commissionhttp://www.filminflorida.com/http://www.filminflorida.com/shapeimage_10_link_0
Georgia Film Commissionhttp://www.georgiafilm.org/http://www.georgiafilm.org/shapeimage_11_link_0
Hawaii Film Commissionhttp://www.filminmaine.com/http://www.hawaiifilmoffice.com/shapeimage_12_link_0
Idaho Film Commissionhttp://www.filmidaho.org/http://www.filmidaho.org/shapeimage_13_link_0
Illinois Film Commissionhttp://ifo.jtpr.net/index.phphttp://ifo.jtpr.net/index.phpshapeimage_14_link_0
Indiana Film Commissionhttp://www.in.gov/film/http://www.in.gov/film/shapeimage_15_link_0
Iowa Film Commissionhttp://www.traveliowa.com/film/incentives.htmlhttp://www.traveliowa.com/film/incentives.htmlshapeimage_16_link_0
Kansas Film Commissionhttp://kdoch.state.ks.us/kdfilm/index.jsphttp://kdoch.state.ks.us/kdfilm/index.jspshapeimage_17_link_0
Kentucky Film Commissionhttp://www.kyfilmoffice.com/http://www.kyfilmoffice.com/shapeimage_18_link_0
Louisiana Film Commissionhttp://www.lafilm.org/http://www.lafilm.org/shapeimage_19_link_0
Maine Film Commissionhttp://www.filminmaine.com/http://www.filminmaine.com/shapeimage_20_link_0
Maryland Film Commissionhttp://www.marylandfilm.org/http://www.marylandfilm.org/shapeimage_21_link_0
Michigan Film Commissionhttp://www.michigan.gov/filmofficehttp://www.michigan.gov/filmofficeshapeimage_22_link_0
Mississippi Film Commissionhttp://www.visitmississippi.org/film/http://www.visitmississippi.org/film/shapeimage_23_link_0
Massachusetts Film Commissionhttp://www.mafilm.org/http://www.mafilm.org/shapeimage_24_link_0
Minnesota Film Commissionhttp://mnfilmtv.org/aboutUs_services.phphttp://mnfilmtv.org/aboutUs_services.phpshapeimage_25_link_0
Missouri Film Commissionhttp://www.missouribusiness.net/film/http://www.missouribusiness.net/film/shapeimage_26_link_0
Montana Film Commissionhttp://montanafilm.com/http://montanafilm.com/shapeimage_27_link_0
Nebraska Film Commissionhttp://www.neded.org/content/view/515/1254/http://www.neded.org/content/view/515/1254/shapeimage_28_link_0
Nevada Film Commissionhttp://www.nevadafilm.com/http://www.nevadafilm.com/shapeimage_29_link_0
New Hampshire Film Commissionhttp://www.nh.gov/film/index.htmhttp://www.nh.gov/film/index.htmshapeimage_30_link_0
New Jersey Film Commissionhttp://www.njfilm.org/http://www.njfilm.org/shapeimage_31_link_0
New Mexico Film Commissionhttp://www.nmfilm.com/http://www.nmfilm.com/shapeimage_32_link_0
New York Film Commissionhttp://www.nylovesfilm.com/index.asphttp://www.nylovesfilm.com/index.aspshapeimage_33_link_0
North Carolina Film Commissionhttp://www.ncfilm.com/http://www.ncfilm.com/shapeimage_34_link_0
North Dakota Film Commissionhttp://www.ndtourism.com/industry/media-links/http://www.ndtourism.com/industry/media-links/shapeimage_35_link_0
Ohio Film Commissionhttp://www.discoverohiofilm.com/http://www.discoverohiofilm.com/shapeimage_36_link_0
Oklahoma Film Commissionhttp://www.oklahomafilm.org/http://www.oklahomafilm.org/shapeimage_37_link_0
Oregon Film Commissionhttp://www.oregonfilm.org/http://www.oregonfilm.org/shapeimage_38_link_0
Rhode Island Film Commissionhttp://www.film.ri.gov/http://www.film.ri.gov/shapeimage_39_link_0
Pennsylvania Film Commissionhttp://www.filminpa.com/filminpa/index.jsphttp://www.filminpa.com/filminpa/index.jspshapeimage_40_link_0
Puerto Rico Film Commissionhttp://www.puertoricofilm.com/en/http://www.puertoricofilm.com/en/shapeimage_41_link_0
South Carolina Film Commissionhttp://www.scfilmoffice.com/http://www.scfilmoffice.com/shapeimage_42_link_0
South Dakota Film Commissionhttp://www.filmsd.com/http://www.filmsd.com/shapeimage_43_link_0
Tennessee Film Commissionhttp://www.state.tn.us/film/http://www.state.tn.us/film/shapeimage_44_link_0
Texas Film Commissionhttp://www.governor.state.tx.us/film/http://www.governor.state.tx.us/film/shapeimage_45_link_0
Utah Film Commissionhttp://film.utah.gov/http://film.utah.gov/shapeimage_46_link_0
Vermont Film Commissionhttp://www.vermontfilm.com/http://www.vermontfilm.com/shapeimage_47_link_0
Virginia Film Commissionhttp://www.film.virginia.org/http://www.film.virginia.org/shapeimage_48_link_0
West Virginia Film Commissionhttp://www.wvfilm.com/http://www.wvfilm.com/shapeimage_49_link_0
Washington Film Commissionhttp://www.washingtonfilmworks.org/http://www.washingtonfilmworks.org/shapeimage_50_link_0
Washington D.C. Film Commissionhttp://film.dc.gov/film/site/default.asphttp://film.dc.gov/film/site/default.aspshapeimage_51_link_0
Wyoming Film Commissionhttp://www.wyomingfilm.org/http://www.wyomingfilm.org/shapeimage_52_link_0
Wisconsin Film Commissionhttp://www.filmwisconsin.net/http://www.filmwisconsin.net/shapeimage_53_link_0

Content sponsored and created by Studio Smithy, Inc. A Film and Commercial Production Company.

Studio Smithy, Inc. is a Commercial, Film, Direct Response, Production Services, Product Shot and Television Production Company